Courts of appeal hear civil appeals and conduct felony criminal trials in panels of three judges.

Egypt has eight courts of appeal, headquartered in Cairo, Alexandria, Tanta, Mansoura, Ismailia, Beni Suef, Assiut, and Qena. Each court of appeal has its own president, and is divided into circuits assigned to hear certain types of cases, such as economic, commercial, criminal, and more recently a specialized criminal circuit in each court of appeals that is designated to hear terrorism and other national security cases (which is why so many such cases are presided over by the same judges).

The presidents of the Cairo, Alexandria, and Tanta Courts of Appeal are also members of the Supreme Judicial Council.